Tokyo Disneyland part 3!

Continued… Once we had looked around the shops in the World Bazaar we headed back to Tomorrowland to get an R2-D2 popcorn bucket! I had already determined that I was going to try the popcorn, but Paul was not a big fan of popcorn (until R2-D2 was thrown into the mix)! We started with caramel flavour and moved on to milk chocolate. Was also a great way to keep the hunger at bay for the rest of the afternoon!

While we were there we decided to go on Star tours again as it was walk on! I liked the Jakku sequence but I was disappointed we had to endure the Naboo sequence three times!

On the way back to Frontierland  we cut through Grand Bazaar in search for toilets and ran into more roaming characters! We actually saw a lot more roaming characters that day but cannot remember who now!

Eeyore looked so sad I had to give him a hug! We then went back to Frontierland to ride Big Thunder Mountain which was good because I’ve not been on it for a few years due to always timing it with the lengthy upgrades! I do have to say I like the originality, but I now have a new favourite alternative in Hong Kong Disneyland (Big Grizzly Mountain Runaway Mine Cars).

After Big Mountain we went straight over to Tom Sawyers Island, mostly because I wanted the map they were giving out! I thought it was great they still give them out here, what a great free souvenir! Also I realised we easily had enough time to do all attractions. My feet were really starting to hurt by this point so Paul got me a drink and I sat down, while Paul ran round and took photos.

We then headed to our final land- Adventureland! I think it was only around 4.30pm at this point. We walked straight into the Enchanted Tiki Room. Paul had never been on any variant of the attraction before and I had only ever been on the Florida version. I did actually like it with Stitch, purely because everyone sang along really enthusiastically when he came along! All the kids and adults were singing at the top of their lungs and showed how much the Japanese really loved Stitch! I also had forgotten about the detail that went into this attraction, I would have really loved to see the original attraction in its heyday.

Then we went on Jungle Cruise, still hilarious even though we couldn’t actually understand anything, it was the same storyline as others so generally could guess exactly what they were saying. I still stand by if I worked at Disney I would want to work my way up to be a skipper on the Jungle cruise. We waited around fifteen minutes to ride.

Pirates of the Carribean was closed for refurbishment which was a shame, but we did quite well as only that and Mickeys Philharmagic were closed and we have been on them many times at the other parks. After Jungle Cruise we went on the Western River railroad. As it only circled Adventureland and Frontierland, I thought it would be quite short but actually felt like a pretty long ride. All the original effects were working which was great, including the dinosaur tunnel!

After our lovely train ride we had a quick walk around Adventureland again before going to the main hub and walking through the castle back to Fantasyland.

Sun starting to set

By the time we got through the castle via every shop on the way it was nearly 6pm and having done all the main attractions we wanted to , it was finally time to ride Pooh’s Hunny Hunt, which I had been talking up all day to Paul based on its trackless ride system as we both just loved Mystic Manor in Hong Kong. The wait time was advertised at 40 minutes which we were prepared to wait as we had not had to queue all day, and we really had nothing to do except get some food before the Electrical Parade ‘Dreamlights’. We actually waited less than 25 minutes and was the longest queue of the day!

I really enjoyed the attraction, I thought it was really well done, and considering else everyone on the ride was adults, they did too! really recommend this for everyone and even Paul enjoyed it. I do have to make a note here to add that a lot of the rides used projection technology to have moving skies, flying birds, changing backgrounds and it really shows the good use of upgraded technology on the attractions at Disney. 

To be continued…

Leave a comment